About apparatus

apparatus interacts with human and non-human bodies, with space as a body, with texts, machines, stones, philosophies, theater and other institutions, with artists, movements, choreographies and other objects, all together on the search for centrifugal forces and utopian potentials. We dabble in the language of all things and, as such, follow the call of the theoria that existed as much at the beginning of European theater as they did at the conception of European philosophy. Now at the end of that narrative, we look back and thus also look forward. What emerges, even if there’s no language to articulate that emergence? If reality and realism are conservative, what other realities – besides those that we classify as such – could exist interactively between all bodies? How can we get past the alienation between human and non-human bodies and resist the binaries inherent to spoken logic?

We began with building APPARATUSES as places for conjuring reality, in the spirit of Karen Barad, We followed this path through the development of MYKORRHIZA, DRECK and PHARMAKOS/N, without systems, without directors. Instead, we treated these processes as the assembling of components on the search for the utopian potential in the event. This search also led us to the development of a full-length performance together with other artists: Magical. Acts. Matter.

The logic of the means and the end is obsolete, yet it remains the core idea behind institutionalized funding for theater. This logic serves as a causal relationship for the assumption of politics in theater and art. With the series REALLY USEFUL THEATER, we pull these antagonistic points of view into question. What do the artists say and do? Do they want their art to be purposeful? To be written into the logic of utility and Utilitarianism? Or is their intention exactly the opposite? So far, three cities have hosted editions of RUT, all of which have been archived in video form, most of which can be viewed online.

Since we ourselves are not an institution and also don’t wish to become one, we have decided to separate ourselves from the idea of curation. At the beginning of 2018, we find ourselves in a process of concocting new forms, different objects and apparatuses. Representation, reproduction and reconstruction do not suffice to create speculative challenges and it is precisely this quality that is necessary to construct resonant spaces for the possibility of other realities. We will – together with our partners, with objects of all kinds – find new forms.

Stefanie Wenner has a PhD in Philosophy and has been working under the label apparatus since 2014 toward better representations of reality through the means of theater. Previous positions include HAU Hebbel am Ufer and Impulse Theater Festival. In 2015, she took on the role of Professor of Applied Theater Studies and Production Dramaturgy at HfBK Dresden. In January 2017, she initiated the international conference Matter: States of Agency.

Thorsten Eibeler studied Applied Theater Studies in Gießen and is a founding member of the performance collective Showcase Beat Le Mot with which he has been producing theater pieces, peformances, art installations and music videos since 1998. His collaboration with Stefanie Wenner began in May 2014. Together, they founded apparatus GbR in 2015.


Artists and Project Contributors


Anja Dirks
Anna Brotankova
Aram Shelton
Bayan Shbib
DJ Obstsalat
Ernesto Estrella
Esther Slevogt
Eva Behrendt
Fecerico Nitii
Ioanna Valsamidou
Jan-Sebastian Šuba
Jessica Gadani
Ljubow Pchelkina
Lorena Méndez Barrios
Nicola Stricker
Oblivia
Orthographe
Peter Thoma
Thanisha Fah

Über apparatus

apparatus inter-agiert mit menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Körpern, mit Raum als Körper, mit Texten, Maschinen, Steinen, Philosophie, Theater und anderen Institutitionen, mit Künstler_innen, Bewegungen, Choreographie und anderen Objekten auf der Suche nach zentrifugalen Kräften und utopischen Potenzialen. Wir versuchen uns an der Sprache aller Dinge und folgen darin dem Ruf der theoria, die am Beginn des europäischen Theaters ebenso existierte wie zur Geburtsstunde europäischer Philosophie. Vom Ende dieser Narrative aus schauen wir zurück und damit nach vorn. Was zeigt sich, auch wenn es keine Sprache gibt, die dieses Zeigen artikulieren kann? Wenn Realität und Realismus konservativ sind, welche andere Wirklichkeiten als die, die wir als Realität bezeichnen, sind interaktiv zwischen allen Körpern möglich? Wie können wir die Entfremdung zwischen menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Körpern durchkreuzen und den Dualismen sprachlicher Logik widerstehen?

Angefangen haben wir mit der Einrichtung von APPARATEN im Sinne Karen Barads als Orte der Hervorbringung von Wirklichkeit, die wir entlang von MYKORRHIZA, DRECK und PHARMAKOS/N entwickelten. Keine Systeme, keine Regie, Assemblagen eher, auf der Suche nach dem utopischen Potential des Ereignisses. Ebenfalls auf dieser Suche entwickelten wir einen Performance Abend, Magical. Acts. Matter., gemeinsam mit anderen Künstler_innen.

Die Logik von Zweck und Mittel ist überholt, bleibt aber zentraler Gedanke institutioneller Förderung von Theater. Als Wirkungszusammenhang gedacht, gehört sie zu der Behauptung der Politizität von Theater und Kunst. Mit der Serie REALLY USEFUL THEATER stellten wir diese antagonistischen Positionen zur Debatte. Was sagen und tun Künstler_innen, wollen sie mit ihrer Kunst Nutzen bringen, sich einschreiben in die Logik von Verwertbarkeit, oder gerade nicht? An bislang drei Orten fanden Ausgaben von RUT statt, alle Ausgaben sind auf einer gesonderten Website mit Videos archiviert, die größtenteils online stehen.

Da wir keine Institution sind und auch keine werden wollen, verabschieden wir uns vom Gedanken des Kuratierens und befinden uns zu Beginn 2018 im Gärungsprozeß für neue Formen, andere Objekte und Apparate. Repräsentation, Reproduktion und Rekonstruktion sind nicht dazu geeignet, spekulativ herauszufordern. Dieser Qualität jedoch bedarf es, um Resonanzräume für andere Wirklichkeiten zu schaffen. Wir werden-mit unseren Partner_innen, mit Objekten aller Art, andere Formen finden.

Stefanie Wenner ist promovierte Philosophin und arbeitet seit 2014 unter dem Label apparatus an besseren Darstellungen von Wirklichkeit mit den Mitteln des Theaters. Zuvor war sie u.a. am HAU und beim Theaterfestival Impulse engagiert. Seit 2015 ist sie Professorin für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft und Produktionsdramaturgie an der HfBK Dresden. Januar 2017 initiierte sie die internationale Konferenz Matter: States of Agency.

Thorsten Eibeler studierte in Gießen Angewandte Theaterwissenschaften und ist Gründungsmitglied des Performancekollektivs von Showcase Beat Le Mot, mit der er seit 1998 international Theaterstücke, Performances, Kunstaktionen und Musikvideos produziert. Seit Mai 2014 künstlerische Zusammenarbeit mit Stefanie Wenner und Gründung der apparatus GbR in 2015.


Künstler*innen und Projektbeteiligte


Anja Dirks
Anna Brotankova
Aram Shelton
Bayan Shbib
DJ Obstsalat
Ernesto Estrella
Esther Slevogt
Eva Behrendt
Fecerico Nitii
Ioanna Valsamidou
Jan-Sebastian Šuba
Jessica Gadani
Ljubow Pchelkina
Lorena Méndez Barrios
Nicola Stricker
Oblivia
Orthographe
Peter Thoma
Thanisha Fah